Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 10 February, 2014
Playing time: 61:42

I wasn’t overly enthusiastic about Martiria’s previous album (2012’s “Roma S.P.Q.R.”). It was a good effort but there were a few specific issues that I found it hard to take in. With their new “R-evolution” album, the band seems to have addressed each of those issues with the result that…lo and behold, they’ve created an absolute killer of an album.


First surprise is the band’s new vocalist: Flavio Cosma, whose singing is huge, epic and at times gave me the goosebumps. ‘The Road to Tenochtitlan”, for instance, has him singing like a sort of Glen Hughes let loose in a moshpit. In ‘R-evolution’ Cosma showcases his vocal range and uses his Italian accent to his own advantage.


Although the drums are not as self-indulgent as one might presume when the drummer is a certain Vinnie Appice (Black Sabbath, Dio, Heaven And Hell), their sound is fantastic and Appice seems to have a magical feel about what’s going on. The riffs are another highlight of the album…many examples to choose from here but again ‘The Road to Tenochtitlan’ gets my top vote.


Even those tracks I liked less have enough going on….a guitar arpeggio here….a verse there…..some tasteful keyboards…..that make them worth listening to over again. In this context ‘The Mark of Cain’ springs to mind.


When Martiria play Doom Metal they’re quite amazing but “R-evolution” has the band flirting with other genres too. In ‘Grim Reaper’, for instance, the tempo and aggression point at Thrash. ‘Salem’, on the other hand, starts like a Rhapsody-inspired Power Metal song but the bass and drums give it a rougher edge. I think this musical eclecticism ultimately benefits the dynamics of “R-evolution” giving it an Epic character. Not even the artwork dampened my enthusiasm.


Great stuff!

01. King of Shadows
02. Steam Power
03. Southern Seas
04. Salem
05. The Road to Tenochtitlan
06. Grim Reaper
07. Light Brigade
08. Dark Angels
09. Revolution
10. The Mark of Cain
11. The Viol and the Abyss
12. Across the Mountains

13. Tsushima
Label: Rocksector Records
Distribution: Rocksector Records
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 2 February, 2014
Website: www.martiria.com