Power of Metal.dk Review

Hidden Intent
Walking Through Hell
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 28 April, 2014
Playing time: 45:37

I suppose it follows the law of diminishing returns. A post-millennium proliferation of Thrash bands has inevitably regaled us with a fair share of albums that sounded insipid or clinical. Once in a while, however, I do discover bands that inspire me to get my air guitar out of its dusty case and go back to nodding like a human jackhammer.

Into the latter context step Hidden Intent, a 3-piece from Australia that follow in the footsteps of Anthrax, Nuclear Assault, early Megadeth, Sacred Reich....hence you’ve got compositions based on staccato-type riffing, a pummeling rhythm section, furious guitar solos and ‘clean’ but screaming vocals. What’s not to like? Hidden Intent sound incredibly tight and their songwriting is almost spot on. Bassist/lead vocalist Chris McEwen peppers his Joey Belladonna style of singing with some impressive King Diamond screams. I wonder if he can do that live.

“Walking Through Hell” even possesses the self-deprecating humour of many 1980s Thrash bands (Anthrax, S.O.D., Tankard, Lawnmower Deth) – check out the final seconds of ‘Black Hole’ or the cheerily preposterous ‘Bass Wankage’, a 52-second instrumental track consisting solely of bass guitar.

At the end of the day, “Walking Through Hell” doesn’t provide any valid contribution to this music genre. It’s more of a loving tribute to a bygone era. But if any of the (admittedly many) names I’ve dropped in the review strike a chord with you, then you might not want to miss this.

01. Confession
02. Walking Through Hell
03. Through Your Eyes
04. Betrayed
05. Die Inside
06. Good Friday Thrash
07. Get What You Can Get
08. Face Your Demon
09. Creature of Habit
10. Bass Wankage
11. Black Hole
Label: Punishment 18 Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 28 May, 2014
Website: Hidden Intent @ Facebook