Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: 14 February , 2013
Playing time: 47:40

American melodic hard rock by musicians from Spain is what you'll get on the album 'Changes', which is Airless' new album released by Lion Music. Their self-titled debut album was released back in 2002 and with their fourth studio album these guys have found their style. Mature American rock, which neither may surprise or shock, everything feels safe and stable. No complicated or technically advanced melodies. Straight groovy rock with stable choruses and well constructed songs. They have created a bunch of very lush and melodic tracks, which are very easy to like, like the title track where Danny Vaughn (Tyketto/Waysted/Vaughn) performs as a guest vocalist.

The ordinary vocalist Iņaki Lazcano has a nice and clean voice, but without any specialties or surprises. He sings in the secure middle register and he does it very well. Robert Rodrigo on guitar is also the guy, who has done excellent work with the mix and mastering of this album. Sadly enough the guitar is too much in the background and it would have been nice if the vocals had been little less in the front at imes. In the guitar parts, the riffs are clear and shining, but not as often as I would have liked. They are very melodic and West-coast-ish in their rock style.

Overall the songs are alright and I like most of them, but the big hit tracks are missing. I feel that this will be an album that will fit in my OK folder, but not much more. Hard rock with strong guitar work and splendid vocal performance with very nice harmonies is the trademark of Airless.

Best songs are 'I Don't Care', 'Gone too Far', 'Changes' and 'Come Back Home'.

If you like Van Halen, White Lion and Harem Scarem this is something for you to check out.

Iņaki Lazkano - Vocals
Miguel Manjon - Bass
Pako Martinez - Drums
Robert Rodrigo – Guitar

01. Start Again
I Don't Care
Dead Inside
Till The End Of Time
Rescue Me
Gone Too Far
Reach For You
Come Back Home
11. Latest Prophecy
Label: Lion Music
Distribution: Border Music Distribution AB
Artwork rating: 66/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 3 February, 2013
Website: www.airlessband.com