Fire Make Thunder
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 26 March, 2012
Playing time: 43:14

This super group/project was formed by the guitar guru Jim Matheos (Fates Warning and Arch/Matheos) in collaboration with Kevin Moore (Chroma Key, ex-Dream Theater) in year 2002. The discography is already counting 3 full album releases, with this album "Fire Make Thunder" being the latest one by the progressive masterminds.

It was recorded through 2011 with Jim taking care of the masterfully performed guitar play. As it was on the previous releases, Kevin Moore is again responsible for the vocals and electronic/keyboard tunes on this production, drums are also again being handled by the pounding skills of Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree). All in all this is a highly talented band, that shouldn't struggle with any musical obstacles and setting high expectations for this album.

The musical style is progressive rock, with some ingredients from progressive metal, pop and electronic tunes. The overall production is rock solid and all instruments are clearly defined in the musical landscape.

Matheos’s metallic guitar riffs are well fitted into the song structures, and providing the listener with a very crunchy and heavy sound to the electronic universe created by Moore. The guitar shredding is missing some dynamic though, and at times it’s sounding to mechanical/industrial. Still it’s excellent executed and you are never in doubt that it’s Jim doing the magic on the strings.

The singing style by Moore is a matter of personal taste. He is singing with a very monotone neutral sound that floats through the tracks, and almost drowns into the sea of electronic tunes. Not saying it’ bad, because it’s not. After listening to the album several times, his singing style is actually a perfect match and contrast to the heavy guitar tones.

The keyboard tunes are skilfully performed by Moore and adds the atmospheric effects to the overall production. When the guitar kicks in combined with the tight drum work done by Gavin, it’s just pure magic.

Upon first listening of the album, the opening track “Cold Call” and the last track “Invisible Men” are the ones that stand out among the rest. Both of the tracks serving us a tour de force showcase for the groups musical skills with a perfect balance of electronic melodies and heavy guitar riffs.

After a few spins, the album really begins to open up in unexpected ways, giving us unique progressive elements, so don't give up on it after the first run. It will take some time to appreciate the high music quality of this record, but if you give it a few more spins, you will be rewarded, with a great progressive rock experience.

With this album, OSI got at new fan onboard, joining them on their musical journey.

01. Cold Call (7:10)
02. Guards (5:03)
03. Indian Curse (4:42)
04. Prayer Missiles (4:54)
05. Wind Won't Howl (5:05)
06. Big Chief II (3:04)
07. For Nothing (3:18)
08. Invisible Men (9:54)
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Tommy Skøtt
Date: 23 March, 2012
Website: www.osiband.com