Nyx Aether
Entering Into Rebirth
Style: Symphonic Dark Metal
Release date: 1 October, 2012
Playing time: 41:34

Nyx Aether started out as a concept in the year 2010. Singer/songwriter Myrlene van den Weijer had musical inspirations for a longer time. Her urge to create something of her own, grew into a set of musical and lyrical ideas within the frame of an album concept about paganism, occultism and one person's journey in discovering what these elements are and what they can add to one's life.

Together with Tom de Wit (TDW, Mind:Soul) she worked out the ideas into songs. The music on the album can be described as symphonic doom/death with soundscapes, bombastic parts and gothic influences. Besides guitars, synths and orchestration, Tom also takes care of the grunts. Martijn Luppens is responsible for the bass. There is no drummer in the line-up, so I think they are programmed, but I have to say that you can't really hear that.

There are enough good ideas on the album, but to listen to the album from start to finish is something different. After a few songs it all sounds a bit the same, not enough variety between the songs. The dark atmosphere can be heard throughout the entire album, but isn't new. Piano parts varied with heavy parts and the combination of female singing and grunting are rather common in this genre and some spoken parts to tell the story aren't new either. Nevertheless, the execution is o.k., but to shine I think they have to explore a bit more and perhaps try to add something new.

There is nothing wrong with the individual songs, but to listen to the entire album gets a little boring in my opinion.


01. In Memoria
02. The Grand Transformation
03. Bittersweet Illusion
04. Consequence of Purity
05. Silence of the Night
06. Redemption
07. Flight of the Spirits
08. Dances of Death
09. Niburu's Return
10. Anima In Omne Tempus

Label: Layered Reality Productions
Distribution: www.layered-reality.com
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 1 November, 2012
Website: www.nyxaether.nl