When Worlds Collide
Style: Power Metal
Release date: March 26th 2010

"When Worlds Collide" you better hide!

Sinbreed is the project around 27 years old guitarist Flo Laurin who has joined forces with dedicated artists of the European metal scene, among them; Frederik Ehmke (Blind Guardian) on drums and Herbie Langhans (Seventh Avenue) on vocals. Guests on the album include Thomas Rettke (ex. Heaven's Gate), Joost van den Broek (Ayreon, Star One) and Morten Sandager (Pretty Maids). Artwork was created by Felipe Machado Franco (Iced Earth, Ayeron, Pyramaze) and the album was mixed and mastered by Markus Teske (Symphony X, Vanden Plas, Neal Morse).

First class European melodic power metal is what they serve. Musically the songs are a mix between Helloween, Gamma Ray, At Vance and Primal Fear. I find the vocal performance of Herbie better on this CD than on the Seventh Avenue albums. I think that is because he sounds a bit more aggressive and maybe it is experience? There is absolutely nothing wrong with the production and song writing, the entire album passes by in a flow and is of a rather high standard. You can certainly hear that the musicians have earned their stripes elsewhere. The lyrics are no narrative literature (think Judas Priest) either, but who is waiting for that?

There is enough variation in the separate songs and with "Dust to Dust" they have written one of the most addictive songs I've listened to lately. If you were a little disappointed about the last "we play on cruise control "At Vance album, I think this one will be a big salve on the wound. Expect no new things, but just enjoy good plain European melodic power metal. If you order the last Gamma Ray album, add this one to the list as well. Thumbs up!


01. Newborn Tomorrow

02. Book Of Life

03. When Worlds Collide

04. Dust to Dust

05. Infinity's Call

06. Through the Dark

07. Enemy Lines

08. Room 101

09. Arise

10. Salvation

Label: Ulterium Records
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: March 13th 2010