In the Wake of Evolution
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: March 15th 2010

If you know Kaipa you know what to expect (kinda), and they delivers in a big way on "In the Wake of Evolution". Hans Lundin and Kaipa have been a steady and special part of progressive rock scene for more than 35 years, and the special blend of progressive rock, folk and fusion is a joy to listen to. This technical accomplished group mixes so many styles into their timeless pieces of rock music.

The line-up of Hans Lundin (keyboards, vocals), guitarist Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry), drummer Morgan Ågren (Zappa), bassist Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic) and the vocalists Patrik Lundström (Ritual) and Aleena Gibson takes us on exciting excursions into a timeless universe of progressive rock. But fear not, the sound is still deeply rooted in the 70's and "In the Wake of Evolution" is a logic step forward from "Angling Feelings" from 2007; a logical continuation of colourful soundscapes they painted on that album.

And the step is a big leap forward; everything has taken at least a step up the latter. The songs sound more mature, are better constructed and they have had an eye for details on this album. Star of the show is in my opinion Aleena Gibson; her interpretations of Hans' compositions and melody lines are superb, she takes this album up a notch and the performance from the rest is flawless and shows a technical sound band at its best.

"In the Wake of Evolution" is another gem from the Swedish progressive rock scene, and one you shouldn't miss out on, if you are into this style.

Cool album!

1. In the Wake of Evolution (10.57)
2. In the Heart of Her Own Magic Field (5:12)
3. Electric Power Water Notes (17:51)
4. Folkia’s First Decision (2:33)
5. The Words are Like Leaves (5:36)
6. Arcs of Sound (8:22)
7. Smoke from a Secret Source (9:24)
8. The Seven Oceans of our Mind (10:09)
Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: February 21st 2010
Website: www.kaipa.info