Exit Reality
Style: Progressive death/doom metal
Release date: October 25th 2010
Playing time: 23:34

This is the second EP of my countrymen I am going to review. 'I Mortal' was released in 2007 and after a few line-up changes this EP 'Exit Reality' is their next feat of arms. At the moment they have already started to work on their first full length and the opening track of this EP will be one of the songs on that album. "Blood of Millions" is the shortest track on this EP and it starts very brutal. It is a bit faster than the other two tracks, has some blastbeats and it doesn't take that long to get to the point. Ferdinand's vocals are low and brutal grunts, but very understandable.

The second track "Terra" is the kind of track that is more particular for a Dimaeon song. After a quiet intro the song opens with a slow brutal riff and the keyboards underneath create the perfect atmosphere. The slower parts with the grunting vocals remind me sometimes a bit of Paradise Lost. Dimaeon brings in some variation through clean guitar and singing parts. This is a formula they use most of the times in the long tracks. The clean singing parts could use some improvement; I'm not very thrilled by them. One of their leading cards is that their music sounds rather progressive. The tempo changes and the construction of the songs are promising.

The downfall for them is that the construction of the longer songs is about the same. With an EP that is not a problem, but with a full length this could be too much. Listening to this EP for the first time, I didn't notice that the third track "Aeon" already had started. This doesn't need to be a problem of course, but I would advice them to vary more on the full length; long track, short track, long track etc. etc. The guitar riffs and the solo parts are good and with the help of J.B. van der Wal (Aborted, Leaves' Eyes) and Jorg Uken (Nigthfall, God Dethroned, Dew Scented) the sound on this EP is very mature.

Promising EP that makes me very curious how their first full length will be!


01. Blood of Millions (4:37)

02. Terra (10:12)

03. Aeon (8:45)

Label: Self release
Distribution: www.dimaeon.com
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: November 10th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/dimaeon