Style: Thrash/Death Metal
Release date: February 25th 2009

Methedras, "death thrash killing machine" from Italy presents on Katarsis a modern thrash with a hardcore voice, kind of cool. The compositions have nothing special I can mention but sound good enough with a certain level of technical abilities.

Who are they, by the way?
The band was actually formed as early as 1996 in Milan with the purpose to mix thrash metal from the 80's with the blind rage of a more actual technical death metal. In this they succeed indeed.
Methedras has lately played at important metal events like Wacken Open Air (2004), and more recently they were invited to join the legendary German band Destruction on an East-European tour.
Katarsis is a good effort from Methedras, but technicity and unconditional inspiration/dedication to one's genre, doesn't automatically bring soul to the music.

Beware of the awful female voice on the last track, with its nasal tries to sing too low for her range, going uninspired on an on, like a talking doll that has gone on repeat... if this is the point, well, a bad choice, I think. If you manage to find the album version without the bonus track do yourself the favour to buy it instead of the one that's lying besides me.

Anyway, Methedras keeps true to the genres they praise, and for that I respect them.


01. Circle of Fire
02. T.D.K.M.
03. Civil War
04. Flag of Lie
05. Slave your Mind
06. On my Knees
07. Katarsis
08. Mass Control
09. Betrayed again
Bonus Track:
10. Nightmares

Label: Punishment 18 Records
Distribution: Punishment 18 Records
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: September 19th 2009